oh halloween weekend. so uneventful.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Basically, the GREs were kinda crap. My amazing procrastination skills meant that I ended up with 2 days worth of studying and last minute cramming. Urm. Lo and behold, I find out that it actually takes more than that to do extremely well on them. Can't say that the results were what I wanted (when I slept for part of the cramming, I dreamt of scores well into the high 700's) but I ended up doing fairly well. I guess. Apparently the essay results come 10-15 days after the test. If I score high enough on them, I'ma gonna keep the scores. If not, I might be tempted to try it again only because I'm freaking out about what a couple of professors told me about admissions. Gah. It'll pass but right now, I'm a little distracted by visions of my applications being rejected because my score wasn't high enough especially since so many more ppl are applying for grad school these days. That and my professors have gone MIA online. I may have to go up to campus and hunt them down like a creepy, desperate stalker in order to get my recommendations written in a timely manner.

The rest of the weekend was pretty uneventful. I purposely took the GREs on Friday because I thought I would be playing in a rugby 10's tournament the next day. I figured I might as well take it before in case of a concussion or some other injury that would most probably produce even crappier scores. To my dismay, I find out the week of that I need proof of health insurance. It makes sense and all but I don't have health insurance right now since America is messed up and refuses to make it possible for most people to get insurance without paying an arm and a leg (and possibly my first born child) for the most limited service they can provide. Seriously. I worked in a medical clinic for a couple of years. I know first hand how much joy they take in rejecting claims and procedures. So, I didn't end up playing and instead sat at home in my suburban neighbourhood waiting to give out candy to kids who never showed up. yeah. So now I also have lots of candy I do not want to eat. Meh. My brother thinks it's because we didn't decorate the yard with coffins and pumpkins and have lights leading up to our door. Well, someone should have told us! But then again, after watching CSI, Criminal Minds, Law and Order, etc, I wouldn't really want my kids getting candy from strangers either. So, the only solution I can think of is to slowly feed the 5-10 pounds (I think it was 5 lbs) of candy to my sister :) That or do the old ppl thing and just give it out next year....which is pretty gross if you think about it. We might be better off with the first option. Unfortunately, feeding my sister candy will lead to conversations about fatness and muffin topping like this one:

my sis: ......fat ler ...need to go jogging soon. Wanna go with me tomorrow?
me: ...errrr.... (*huffs* she should totally be aware of my aversion to running of any kind unless it is to chase after a ball or food)
my sis: Look, I've got a permanent muffin top.
me...huh?? No such thing la! Since when are muffin tops permanent? It's cause your jeans are too tight, dumbo.
My sis: *pulls open her jeans top* No. See. I muffin top even without jeans.
me: that means your underwear is too tight. Do you muffin top when you're not wearing anything?
my sis: huh??? *looks at me like i'm mentally deficient*
me: look, if you go in the bathroom and you're not wearing anything, and you don't muffin top, then it's not permanent. *is pleased with self for (what seems like) logical explanation*
my sis: *stares harder at me* .....

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template Shush by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP